Share diet and nutrition tips in the Stories format.

The Healthy Eating Pyramid

Follow This Healthy Eating Pyramid for a Long and Happy Life

The 'healthy eating pyramid' is a nutrition guide for having a nourishing diet. The contents of a nourishing diet change according to your age, sex, and body condition.
Maya Pillai
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2018
Many people have a wrong notion about the concept of nutritious eating. Youngsters think remaining thin by depriving themselves of all foods that they love, is nutritious eating. However, they are wrong. A nourishing diet has nothing to do with remaining thin by depriving oneself of food. It should impart a sense of well-being, and make you feel energetic.
Tips for Healthy Living
Harvard School of Public Health developed a nutrition guide for healthy eating called 'The healthy Eating Pyramid'. The principles underlying it, stress mainly on two things; regular exercise and weight control. Following the pyrami, lays the foundation of nutritious eating, by virtue of eating more vegetables and whole grains, and less red meat and refined grains.
Regular Exercise
Regular exercise is the basic principle for any healthy diet. The reason being, it helps keep your weight in check.
Focus on the Food You Eat
The eating pyramid guides you to what kind of food you should eat, how you should eat, and when you should eat. It advises you the number of servings you can eat. So, eat your fill of healthy food, and do not worry about the calories.
Give Importance to Vegetables
This guide stresses on a vegetarian diet that includes the daily intake of plenty of fruits and green vegetables. You can also use whole grains and healthy fats, such as canola and olive oil.
Avoid Red Meat
The nutritional guide advises on avoiding red meat such as beef and mutton. It would be a good idea to forgo refined grains, carbonated/sugary drinks, potatoes, and salty snacks. Instead of red meat, have fish or lean meat such as turkey, chicken, and other poultry.
Have a Multivitamin Daily
This pyramid suggests the inclusion of multivitamins in your daily diet.
There are six levels in a 'healthy eating pyramid', and each level has a group of foods recommended to have in your daily diet.
First Group
The food belonging to this group includes breads and cereals. You can have a maximum of 10 to 12 helpings a day. Grains form the basis of this level.
Second and Third Groups
The food items falling in this group include vegetables and fruits. They are a good source of fiber and vitamins. 4 servings a day are recommended.
Fourth Group
The fourth food level consists of dairy products like cheese, milk, and yogurt. 3 servings per day are recommended.
Fifth Group
Foods that provide vitamins, minerals, and protein, are included in this group. Some of the foods recommended in the fifth level are meat, poultry, eggs, and fish. You should also include dry fruits, nuts, and beans. Have at least 2 helpings a day.
Sixth Group
This is the last group and is placed at the top of the food pyramid. These food items are high in sugar and fat. It is wise to consume these foods sparingly.
A significant feature of this pyramid is that it gives importance to the quality and not the quantity of the food you eat. A recent update is the inclusion of salt to the sixth group, and it recommends adding salt sparingly to your food. It also suggests including Vitamin D daily in your diet.
Three Buns
Green Lettuce